Arkansas State Board of Licensure

for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors

News

NEW Rules of the Board effective September 1, 2020

The Rules of the Board has been revised and will be effective Tuesday September 1, 2020. A summary of the changes may be found in this document: ASBLPEPS-Purpose and Summary of Rule Change.

The Final Rule (effective September 1, 2020), Summary of all written and oral comments and the agency response, and Financial Impact Statement are posted on the Rules/Laws/Standards page of our website.

The office of the Arkansas State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers & Professional Surveyors has re-opened

The Board office has reopened.  We remain committed to the health and safety of visitors and employees and ask that you Do NOT visit our office if you:

  • Have a fever of 100.4°F or greater in the last 2 days.
  • Have a cough, difficulty breathing, sore throat, or loss of taste or smell.
  • Have had contact with a person known to be infected with COVID-19 within the previous 14 days. 

All visitors will be screened prior to entry.  If you have questions, staff may be contacted by calling (501)682-2824.

Entry can only be accessed through the front entrance AND after the screening process. 

Face masks are required for entry and must be worn at all times when inside the building.

PUBLIC NOTICE OF RULEMAKING

LEGAL NOTICE OF RULEMAKING

The Arkansas Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors (The Board) a Division of the Arkansas Department Labor & Licensing at 623 Woodlane Dr., Little Rock, AR, 72201 is proposing amendments to its Administrative Rule.

The proposed Rule Amendments will: 1) delete Board duties that will be performed by the Secretary of Labor and Licensing, pursuant to Act 910; 2) delete character requirements such as “good moral character” and “moral turpitude” in compliance with Act 990; 3) amend reciprocity/comity requirements for all applicants who hold substantially similar licenses in other states, pursuant to Act 1011; 4) amend temporary license, in compliance with Act 426 and Act 1011; 5) expedite licensure for military and their spouses pursuant to Act 820; 6) clarify/expedite the license process by allowing the Board ‘s Director to conditionally approve, subject to Board ratification, all qualified applications; 7) amend Board permission to take exams; 8) remove specific college course/hour curriculum requirements for original surveyor applicants; 9) clarify that licenses are renewed biennially; 10) for Professional Surveyors, require at least 2 hours of Continuing Professional Competency (CPC) in the Standards of Practice No.1 for Property Boundary Surveys and Plats when renewing; 11) clarify when/where the seal of an individual/firm must be used; 12) move all licensure-related provisions under Article 8; and 13) delete obsolete fees, duplicative/unnecessary provisions; and update/clarify terminology.

 A copy of the proposed revisions can be accessed on The Board’s website (/), requested via email (pelsboard@arkansas.gov), or obtained from The Board’s office at the above address. Written comment will be accepted via email (pelsboard@arkansas.gov), fax (501)682.2827, or mail (to The Board address) through June 20, 2020 at 4:30 p.m.Posted on 05/20/2020 by Linda Stone

The office of the AR State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers & Professional Surveyors is closed to all public access

Governor Asa Hutchinson has declared a public health emergency in response to the outbreak of COVID-19.

As such, the office of the Arkansas State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers & Professional Surveyors is closed to all public access from 3/23/2020 until further notice.

You may contact essential board staff via email pelsboard@arkansas.gov or phone (501.682.2824).

If you are an applicant and/or licensee, you are encouraged to access the online database PELS at https://pelslicensing.arkansas.gov/ 

We appreciate your patience during this crisis and look forward to serving you.Posted on 03/23/2020 by Linda Stone

Postponed-April 2020 Arkansas State Specific Exam

  • In response to COVID-19 restrictions and increasing concern for the health and safety of our examinees and staff, the Arkansas Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors is postponing the April 2020 Arkansas State Specific Exam. When we are able to proctor the April 2020 exam safely, we will inform the examinees and post the exam date. We will reschedule giving the examinees plenty of notice to study and arrange travel. If you have any questions, please email me at heather.richardson@arkansas.gov.03/19/2020

CBT Examinees – Pearson Vue test centers to close for 30 days

NCEES has informed the Arkansas Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors that Pearson Vue test centers will be closed for 30 days (March 17 - April 16, 2020).  NCEES will be working with Person Vue to reschedule Computer Based Test examinees. 

If you have questions please go to NCEES for the latest information on exams in response to COVID-19. https://ncees.org/covid-19/03/17/2020

CANCELED-NCEES April 2020 paper-in-pencil exam

The Arkansas Board of Licensure of Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors was notified today that due to increased concerns related to the coronavirus 2019 (COVID-19), the NCEES paper-in-pencil exams scheduled for April 17-18, 2020 have been CANCELED. Follow related updates through the NCEES website at ncees.org/COVID-19.

CBT examinees are directed to visit Pearson VUE for the latest updates.  03/13/2020

April 2020 NCEES Exams and Covid-19 update

NCEES is monitoring the coronavirus and its possible impacts to the April 2020 exams. Visit ncees.org/COVID-19 for the most current update.03/10/2020

NCEES exam registration

Registration for the pencil-and-paper April 2020 PE exams is open until 3:00 p.m. (EDT) tomorrow, February 20.

Registration for the computer-based FE, PE, FS, and PS exams is open year-round. 

To learn about the format of your specific exam, visit https://ncees.org/engineering/ or https://ncees.org/surveying/02/19/2020

PE, SE, and Arkansas State Specific Exams are this week!

The October pencil-and-paper PE, SE and Arkansas State Specific Exams are Friday and Saturday, October 25th & 26th!  You've studied hard for your exam(s), now how prepared are you to enter the exam room?  Test yourself with these questions:

Do you know know which calculators are approved for the exam and more importantly is yours on the list?  Acceptable calculators are

  • Casio: All fx-115 and fx-991 models (Any Casio calculator must have “fx-115” or “fx-991” in its model name.) 
  • Hewlett Packard: HP 33s and HP 35s models, no others
  • Texas Instruments: All TI-30X and TI-36X models (must have “TI-30X” or “TI-36X” in its model name.)

Do you know the three most common reasons examinee's are turned away from a test site? Is your ID current and valid, where is your exam authorization, and how will you prevent a late arrival? Reasons are: (1) Expired or invalid ID; (2) No exam authorization form; and (3) Late arrival.

Reviewing the NCEES Examinee Guide and the Arkansas State Specific Examination Policies & Procedures beforehand can help make your exam day a success!10/21/2019

E.I.’s, P.E.’s, and COA’s – licenses ending in 1, 3, 5, 7 or 9 must be renewed this year.

Licenses ending in 1, 3, 5, 7 or 9 must be renewed this year.  Your expiration date can be verified at http://www.arkansas.gov/pels/search/search.php   If the expiration date shows 31-Dec-19 then it will expire Tuesday, December 31, 2019 and there is no grace period.  If your records indicate differently, please call our office, otherwise, to renew your license you need:  

•Internet access

•your Unique Username & Password –

•Debit/Credit Card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover) or echeck

1.  Access:  PELS at https://pelslicensing.arkansas.gov

2.  Login:   with your Username and Password.  A Username and Password may be established by clicking “Click here to Register” on the login screen.

3.  Click:  License & Application Information – Individual

(NOTE IF YOU SEE “NO RECORD FOUND”, STOP AND CALL OUR OFFICE FOR FURTHER ASSISTANCE!!)

4.  Click – “Renew” to the left of your license and follow the instructions until you come to the Confirmation/Transaction page.

5.  Your Renewal is complete upon receipt of your Transaction Number and License Sheet with your new expiration date.

6.  Access your email and either print or save the confirmation page which is your receipt11/01/2019

Statement from NCEES regarding cybersecurity

Yesterday, NCEES was made aware that three U.S. utility companies received phishing emails claiming to be from NCEES, announcing exam results.  

Please visit the "News" section at https://ncees.org/ for further details.08/05/2019

Members attend 2019 NCEES Annual meeting

Board Members who attended the 2019 NCEES Annual meeting in Washington, DC were (Left to Right) Ivan Hoffman, Brian Moore, David Beasley, and Kyle Salyer.

08/19/2019

Upcoming Meetings of the Complaint and Rules Committees and Board

The meetings below will convene in the offices of the Board 623 Woodlane Dr, Little Rock, AR, 72201 

August 5, 2019 at 1:00pm - Rules Committee 

August 6, 2019 

9:00am - Complaint Committee 

10:00am - Special Board Meeting.  Agenda to be posted in our Newsroom at least 7 days before the meeting.  Agenda 2019

Please call (501)682-2824 for additional information.07/23/2019

S.I.’s & P.S.’s – licenses ending in 1, 3, 5, 7, or 9 must renew this year

Licenses ending in 1, 3, 5, 7, or 9 must renew this year.  Your expiration date can be verified at http://www.arkansas.gov/pels/search/search.php   If the expiration date shows 30-Jun-19 then it will expire Thursday, June 30, 2019 and there is no grace period.  If your records indicate differently, please call our office, otherwise, to renew your license you need:  

  • •Internet access•your Unique Username & Password –•Debit/Credit Card (Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover) or echeck1.  Access:  PELS at https://pelslicensing.arkansas.gov2.  Login:   with your Username and Password.  A Username and Password may be established by clicking “Click here to Register” on the login screen.3.  Click:  License & Application Information – Individual(NOTE IF YOU SEE “NO RECORD FOUND”, STOP AND CALL OUR OFFICE FOR FURTHER ASSISTANCE!!)4.  Click – “Renew” to the left of your license and follow the instructions until you come to the Confirmation/Transaction page.5.  Your Renewal is complete upon receipt of your Transaction Number and License Sheet with your new expiration date.6.  Access your email and either print or save the confirmation page which is your receipt

06/03/2019

Arkansas State Government

Arkansas State Board of Licensure for
Professional Engineers and
Professional Surveyors

623 Woodlane Ave.
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501 682-2824
Fax: 501 682-2827
Email: pelsboard@arkansas.gov
Google Map | Contact Us

Scroll to Top