Arkansas State Board of Licensure

for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors


Professional Engineer (PE) – Licensure Overview


NOTE: Offering to perform, contracting for or initiating engineering services prior to the applicant or his firm becoming licensed may be a violation of the Board’s Laws and Rules.  If a violation occurs it could subject the applicant to disciplinary action (Article 14 of the AR State Laws & Rules of the Board eff. June 1, 2022)

Which license do you seek?

  • Comity License (PE-C) – An Arkansas license based upon a current Professional Engineer license in another state.  
  • Original License (PE-O) – This will be your first license, you will take the Principles and Practice of Engineering (P&PE) Exam and your application will be reviewed by the Board Members during a Board meeting.

     Meetings are held in January, March May, July, September and November.

How to apply

  • Online Application: Apply for a License Online | Online Application Instructions.  Complete the online application, forward your verification(s) and reference forms to the appropriate parties, and pay your fees.  If you have an NCEES council record, the instructions outline which forms we will accept from your record.
  • Paper Application: Application and Instructions Word | PDF  Payment must accompany your paper application.  Applications will be returned if these instructions are not followed.


  • Application: PE Comity (PE-C) $200.00
  • Application: PE Original (PE-O)    $ 75.00

Payment Method 

  • Online Application: credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express) or e-check.
  • Paper Application: check (personal, company or bank) or money order payable to PELS Board.

Application Status  

Your application will be “Incomplete” until all documents have been verified. Upon successful verification, the application will be reviewed and you’ll receive an email regarding the decision.  Applications that meet the Board’s current rules for Comity licensure may be approved by the Executive Director using an expedited process. For more information about conditional approval of licensure please refer to the AR Rule of the Board effective June 1, 2022.

Criminal History Form – IF APPLICABLE – Download and complete the form electronically. Submit the completed form and court documents via email to: PDF Fillable Form

Scroll to Top