Arkansas State Board of Licensure

for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors

Engineer Intern (EI) & Professional Engineer (PE) – Qualifications

The Board issues and maintains licenses for Engineer Interns (EI) and Professional Engineers (PE).  For applications which require Board review, (all PE original and some PE Comity and EI applications) licensure is decided during the next Board meeting.  Meetings are held in January, March, May, July, September and November.  

What follows is general information on how to obtain each type of engineering license.  The Board has precise education/experience requirements which are outlined in Article 8.  Please review these carefully.  Additional information may be found in the Board’s Rules by clicking “Rules/Laws/Standards” on the navigation bar above.

Engineer Intern (EI)

Qualifications (Article 8.B of the Rules) – Apply for a License ONLINE, submit your $50 application fee, and meet the qualifications by supplying:

  • Proof of graduation from an Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET (EAC of ABET) approved, or equivalent, engineering curriculum; AND 
  • Verification of passing the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam.  Board authorization is not required to take the FE exam. Please visit www.NCEES.org for additional information.

Upon successful verification of the information, an Engineer Intern License may be issued.       

For more information about the licensure process, including how to apply, fees, cutoff dates, & approval process, please visit Engineer Intern (EI) – Licensure Overview.

Professional Engineer (PE)

Qualifications – The licensure your seeking determines your application type. The application types are Original, Comity, or Reinstatement.

  • Original licensure (Article 8.C.1 of the Rules) Means “your first PE license” and you take the Principles & Practice of Engineering Exam. Apply for a License ONLINE, pay your $75.00 application fee, and meet the qualifications by supplying:
    • Proof of graduation from an Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET (EAC of ABET) approved, or equivalent, engineering curriculum;
    • Verification of passing the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) Exam;
    • 4 years of satisfactory experience after completing the requirements for graduation from 1. above; and
    • Be admitted and pass the Principles of Engineering (PE) exam.

  • Comity licensure (Article 8.C.2 of the Rules) –  You seek licensure based upon a license in another jurisdiction. Apply for a License ONLINE, pay your $200.00 application fee, then:
    • Supply proof that you are a PE in good standing in another state or jurisdiction.
    • Meet the requirements for original PE licensure in Arkansas’ which were in effect at the time you received your initial PE license. A summary of Comity Professional Engineer’s Rules – 1953 to present is located on the Rules/Laws/Standards” page. There are allowances regarding when you took the PE exam and when you earned your experience and also about waiving the FE exam. 

  • Temporary Permits – Although the Board’s Rules provide for a Temporary Permit, its benefit are limited. Why? Because it can only be issued to certain applicants and those applicants are also the ones that can take advantage of the Conditionally Licensed, expedited process.What is it? It’s a short-term, 60 day, one time courtesy extended to authorize practice during the time required to complete and process the application for licensure.
    • Qualifications – Applicant must meet the NCEES MLE requirements.
    • Should I get one? Because the applications may be conditionally approved by the Executive Director, a Temporary Permit is a good option only when gathering the necessary references which may take some time.
    • If I need one how do I apply?  By indicating on the Checkout screen that you wish to have a Temporary Permit and paying the additional $150 temporary permit fee.
  • Applicants considering a Temporary Permit are encouraged to call the Board office at 501-682-2824 to see if it might be beneficial in their particular case. 

  • Reinstatement – coming soon

For more information about the licensure process, including how to apply, fees, cutoff dates, coordinating your NCEES Council Record with our application, & approval process, please visit Professional Engineer (PE) – Licensure Overview.

Arkansas State Government

Arkansas State Board of Licensure for
Professional Engineers and
Professional Surveyors

623 Woodlane Ave.
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501 682-2824
Fax: 501 682-2827
Email: pelsboard@arkansas.gov
Google Map | Contact Us

Scroll to Top