If you need verification of your Arkansas license or examinations to another jurisdiction, it may be possible to do it in an expedited manner electronically by visiting NCEES Lcense/Exam Verification. If the state the verification is to be sent to is listed, then further select that state and supply the requested information. If it's not listed, please complete their form and forward to the Board's office via email, fax, or USPS.You may apply for a license online through Professional Engineer Licensing System (PELS). If this is your first time accessing our online services through the Professional Engineer Licensing System (PELS) you'll need to create a "New Online User" account and password by clicking on the link.
APPLY ONLINE FOR AN INDIVIDUAL OR FIRM LICENSE
APPLICATION & INSTRUCTIONSNOTE: Offering to perform, contracting for or initiating engineering services prior to the applicant or his firm becoming licensed may be a violation of the Board's Laws and Rules (A.C.A.§17-30-305 and Article 16). If a violation occurs it could subject the applicant and or firm to disciplinary action and fines and/or delay or prohibit the applicant or firm from becoming licensed.
HOW TO BEGINThere are four ways to access an application, online, download, by mail or email. By far the easiest, fastest, and most user friendly is Online, click Apply for a License and you're on your way! The Complete Licensure Packet (bottom of this page) can be downloaded then printed or saved, requested by mail or EMAIL. The FREE Acrobat Reader is required to view and print the PDF document (click HERE to obtain the Acrobat Reader program)
How to apply - The instructions below pertain to those who wish to obtain a Professional Engineer (P.E.) License.
- OnIine: complete the online application, forward your verification(s) and reference forms to the appropriate parties, and pay your fees.
- Paper: Payment must accompany your paper application which is mailed to the Board's office. The PE complete licensure packet located at the bottom of this page contains instructions for completing the forms. COMITY applicants, if you have an NCEES council record, the instruction page lists which forms we will accept from your record. Paper applications will be returned if these instructions are not followed.
Which license do you seek?
- Comity License - An Arkansas license based upon a current license in another state.
- Original License - This will be your first license and you will take the Principles and Practice of Engineering (P&PE) Exam.
Fees - All fees shall be non-refundable unless waived by Board action and must be received before the application will be reviewed.
- Comity License - $200.00
- Original License -
- Prior to July 1, 2013 both the application and exam fee is due. Total fees depend upon the exam discipline chosen.
- $255.00 ($75.00 app, $180 exam disciplines Agri, Arch, Chem, Civil, CTRL, Electrical, Env, Fire, Ind, Mech, Metal, Mining, Naval, Nuc, and Petro).
- $575.00 - 1,075.00 ($75.00 app, $500.00 - for each 8 hour vertical or lateral force module) Visit http://www.ncees.org/Exams/SE_exam.php if you're considering utilizing this exam for the basis for your first license.
- After July 1, 2013, the application fee is $75.00. After approval, you'll need to pay your P&PE exam fee to NCEES.
THE PROCESS STARTS BY PAYING YOUR FEES. IF YOU REGISTER WITH NCEES BEFORE THIS STEP, YOU MAY HAVE TO WAIT FOR THE NEXT EXAM IN SIX MONTHS.Payment
- how you pay is based upon how you applied:
- Online: credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express) or e-check.
- Paper: check (personal, company or bank) or money order payable to PELS Board.
Application Status -
- Upon successful verification of submitted information, the application will be reviewed and you'll receive an email regarding the decision to:
- Interview - The Board may request an interview (Article 11.B).
- Approve -
- Comity - for license
- Original - for Professional Engineer License subject to passing the P&PE exam.
- Prior to July 1, 2013 you'll also receive instructions regarding the payment of your $100 NCEES Exam Administration fee.
- After July 1, 2013 you'll receive instructions regarding the payment of your Exam fee to NCEES.
- Reject - Your application and the reason why.
Are given in APRIL and OCTOBER any application completed AFTER the following deadlines will be retained until the next testing date.
- APRIL Exam – your application must be in the Board’s Office AND complete by JANUARY 1st.
- OCTOBER Exam – your application must be in the Board’s Office AND complete by JULY 1st.
Exam Results Notification -
- P&PE exam - Exam results will be e-mailed from NCEES.
Apply Online for a License instead, view the instructions for Online Application.
- The P.E. Complete Licensure Packet contains all documents needed to apply for licensure based upon exam or another states P.E. license. THESE DOCUMENTS ARE FOR APPLICANTS WHO WISH TO SUBMIT A PAPER APPLICATION.
|P.E. Complete Licensure Packet with instructions | WORD | PDF |